Inbound students Study Abroad and Exchange at the University of Melbourne

Important Dates

Application Due Dates

Semester Exchange Deadline Study Abroad Deadline
Semester 1 (February-July) 1 November of the previous year 1 December of the previous year
Semester 2 (July-December) 1 April 1 May

Students are advised to apply as early as possible to avoid delays in receiving the documents necessary to apply for an Australian student visa. Late applications may be accepted in special circumstances with permission.

 

Enrolment and Orientation Dates:

Semester 2, 2017 (JULY - NOVEMBER)
Study Abroad and Exchange Welcome Day: Monday 17 July, 2017 (compulsory)
University Orientation: 19 - 21 July, 2017

Semester 1, 2018 (FEBRUARY - JUNE)
Study Abroad and Exchange Welcome Day: Friday 16 February, 2018 (compulsory) - to be confirmed
University Orientation: 12 February - 5 March, 2018 (TBC)

Teaching Dates:

Semester 1, 2017
Semester 1 teaching period: Monday, 27 February - Sunday, 28 May
Non-teaching period: Friday, 14 April - Sunday, 23 April
Semester 1 Exam Period: Tuesday, 5 June - Friday, 23 June**

Semester 2, 2017
Semester 1 teaching period: Monday, 24 July - Sunday, 22 October
Non-teaching period: Monday, 25 September - Sunday, 1 October
Semester 2 Exam Period: Monday, 30 October - Friday, 17 November

Semester 1, 2018
Semester 1 teaching period: Monday, 26 February - Sunday, 27 May
Non-teaching period: Friday, 30 March - Sunday, 8 April
Semester 1 Exam Period: Monday, 4 June - Friday, 22 June**

**Please note that ALL Study Abroad and Exchange students should plan to be in Melbourne until the end of the examination period. In the unlikely event that you are offered a special exam due to extenuating circumstances such as medical illness, you may be offered to re-sit the exam during the University's supplementary exam period. The supplementary exam period dates can be found here. If you have been offered a second exam, University policy requires students to be available to attend the examination in Melbourne. Note, the University of Melbourne does not make exceptions for students to sit exams at home invigiliated.

University Principal Dates

 

When should I arrive?

You must be in Melbourne before Welcome Day starts. If you can't make it before Welcome Day, you must seek prior approval to arrive after the Welcome Day. You must contact our office via saex-outreach@unimelb.edu.au to advise us of your difficulties and request permission to arrive later.

Please note: Late arrival is not always approved, and if you cannot arrive before semester starts, you may be asked to defer your study to the following semester.

If your late arrival is approved, you will need to make arrangements to meet with an Education Abroad Advisor when you arrive.

 

If you are joining the Melbourne Welcome program:

What is the Melbourne Welcome program?

Semester 2, 2017
Program Dates: Tuesday 11 July - Friday 14 July, 2017
Registrations open: 3 April, 2017
Registrations close: Registrations close when places have filled up, so apply early to avoid diappointment.

Semester 1, 2018
Program Dates: Sunday 11 February - Thursday 15 February, 2018
Registrations open: 10 September, 2017
Registrations close: Registrations close when places have filled up, so apply early to avoid diappointment.

 

If you would like to stay in a residential college:

Semester 2, 2017
Applications open: 10 March, 2017
Applications close: 10 May, 2017
Move-in date: Late July (Please note your residential college will advise you directly of the move-in date.)*

Semester 1, 2018
Applications open: 10 October, 2017
Applications close: 10 December, 2017
Move-in date: Late February (Please note your residential college will advise you directly of the move-in date.)*

* Earlier move-in dates can be arranged directly with the residential college once you have accepted a place.